No-bake energy bites

Last week my mom offered me one of her no-bake energy bites. It was ok, but not great. I’m not sure why but I just wasn’t that big of a fan. I was discussing it with my friend Megan P. and she introduced me to this recipe. It’s a different version of the same idea, but she’s made them lots of times with lots of variations and says they are amazing. I don’t like coconut flakes but I’m going to try it without. She’s never added the chocolate chips that the recipe calls for, but I may add them since I already have those on hand from my BBM cookie dough bites, or maybe dried cranberries would be yummy. We’ll see!

I hope to make them this week if I can find time. I do need some easy high-protein snacks so I hope I like them.

Ingredients
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Instructions
  1. Mix everything above in a medium bowl until thoroughly incorporated.
  2. Let chill in the refrigerator for half an hour.
  3. Once chilled, roll into balls and enjoy!
  4. Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to 1 week.
  5. **You can substitute almost anything for any of the ingredients to work around food allergies, special diets, etc. Soybutter, almond butter, cashew butter, sun butter, etc all works in place of peanut butter. You can use creamed or liquid honey, or agave nectar or even maltitol syrup in place of the honey. If you do not like or cannot eat coconut try some type of crushed cereal, wheat germ, whole wheat flour, granola, cocoa powder…the possibilities are really endless. If you cannot find ground flaxseed you can buy it whole and grind it yourself in a coffee grinder or magic bullet or you can substitute any other dry ingredient in it’s place. Yes, the mini chocolate chips can be regular sized or carob or you can use raisins, cranberries, goji berries, or crushed nuts (almonds, cashews, walnuts, whatev) of some kind.
Leave a Reply

